Do I even have time for God?

I’m sorry for how long it’s been since the last time that I posted on here. Time seemed to slip away from me and I was never able to get back on to type another post. I suppose that it happens to all of us. There is always something to pull us away from the commitments that we have made. The commitments to ourselves, to our families, to our friends, to our church or even to God. It’s a scary thought for me to even think about. Our commitments show where we place value in our lives, and the only way to truly show that is by how you spend your time.

My Pastor taught on this very subject this past Sunday and it really hit me hard. I was putting relaxing in front of the T.V. after a long days work before the blog that I had not only committed to but committed to God. See I had let busy days get ahead of what God wanted from me. There is always the excuses like “I’ll do it when things quiet down” or “When I feel caught up I’ll do it”. The problem with that is that things will never quiet down in life. That’s just not how it works. There will always be an extra shift at work, a broken sink, dogs getting loose, and kids drawing on the walls. 

What if we never had all of these “distractions” in our lives? Well other then being horribly dull it would also be empty. You committing to something when you have nothing else going on doesn’t show that you’re committed. You would have nothing to stop you from doing it. You would never have to fight for the choices that you had made. You would never have to rearrange your schedule or drop everything to do it. You would be able to just do what you needed to and move on to whatever else you wanted to do in your boring life.

I’ll take it even one step further. God knows everything. He sees everything. He knows every person who has ever lived personally, so much so that He has had a relationship with each one even if they don’t know it. He controls all of Heaven and Earth. He has all this going on and He can make time to be with YOU. He doesn’t make excuses of why He can’t be there, He doesn’t bail on you last minute, and He never ignores a call even if it feels like He does sometimes.The God of all the universe never leaves your side.

Matthew 6:33 says “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you” . Keeping your commitment with God and those commitments that you have given to Him (children,spouse,career) and He will bless you. It will completely change your life and the priorities that you set for them. 

 

God Bless,

 

Emily Grace

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

