Is beauty more important?

The other day I was so flustered because I hadn’t grabbed a couple of pictures of my self for my Young Modesty post. I wanted to grab a picture of me in a nicer looking outfit and look presentable before putting those pictures on the internet for all the world to see. It struck me at that point, why was that such a huge problem for me? Why was I afraid of people seeing me dressed in my outfit I wore to work that day? It was modest enough. So what was the problem? Well it was covered with flour and all sorts of food from working the whole day away at the restaurant, but is that enough to get between me and this ministry I do here at my blog?

I’m not saying anything about anyone else but myself in this post. I just feel that sometimes the focus is too easy to shift from bringing glory to God to bringing glory to myself. I can get so caught into my own wants of how I look that I forget what God wants us to focus on and what He sees in us. Proverbs 31:30 – “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting: but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”. 1 Samuel 16:7 – “The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 

ImageSo here I am posting pictures of myself after getting off a 10 hour shift. I have messy hair, awful looking work shoes and flour on me. Honestly it’s ok by me though. Beauty isn’t something from the outside. God finds it in our hearts. In our devotion to Him and in our love of those around us. When it is put in those terms worrying about the other things feel so small.

ImageColossians 3:17 – “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

ImageWhat I wore:

Skirt: Zulily

Shoes: Work safe non-slip sneakers

Shirt: Walmart

Cardigan: Walmart

How do you stay modest at work or when working around you house?

Much Love

Emily Grace

2 thoughts on “Is beauty more important?

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

