God gave me a free coffee

I love coffee. I don’t mean that I kind of enjoy it every now and then or that I am a one cup a day person. I am a coffee every day person. I can drink coffee any time of the day (I grew up in a family that gave coffee to us in sippy cups diluted with milk) and have a caffeine tolerance better then anyone I know. I will drink plain coffee,cappuccinos, lattes or espresso. Everyone who is involved in my life knows how much I love coffee, in fact my best friend got me a gift card to a coffee shop for Christmas! It is just one of the great loves in my life, behind God and my family. On New Years Eve God decided to gift me a wonderful coffee and show me that He fulfills promises.

This past year has been a big growing year. I have learned a lot about myself and about the direction God has me going. I have had some really down moments in the last couple of months though. I lost my GPop two months ago. My family is still learning to cope with out him and get through our first holiday with out him. Then last month while I was on vacation visiting my other side of the family I got a call saying that my Yubby passed away. She was my sister’s Grandmother and I have known her most of my life. It hurt me to know that I was unable to attend the funeral or really make a goodbye.

I started to question  where God was in all of this. I mean I lost two very important people in my life with in a month of each other.I cant lie, my faith was shaken for a few weeks. I lost family and at the same time lost friendships that I had placed a lot of importance in. I felt isolated and that God wasn’t listening to any of my prayers in a time that I really needed Him.I kept praying through it as it says in 1st Corinthians 15:58 “Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.” and in Joshua 1:9  “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

While going through this I found a blog where a girl talked about how she was given advice to remember how big God was. She was reminded that God was able to answer any prayer, even one as simple as getting food. She only had to ask and have the faith of a mustard seed. She decided to try this prayer and that same day she was given a free bag of rice that she had really wanted to have for dinner.

I really needed to see God. I needed to see Him in my life today. To see that He had my back (which He always does) and so I prayed the same simple prayer. That God would provide food or a drink for me today. On the way home from work my mom decided to stop for gas and I decided to go grab a quick coffee before we went home to get ready for a New Years Eve party. As I went to check out with my coffee I looked at these little candies that I wanted to buy for my mom and sister who waited for me in the car but I only had the money to buy the coffee. Then out of no where a woman walked up to me and with out a word handed me a coupon to get a free coffee. I have never seen this woman before in my life and I didn’t even have the chance to thank as she disappeared right after she gave me the coupon.  I decided to that with the money I saved I would go ahead and get those candies for my family only to be floored by the fact that it came out to be the exact same price as my coffee would have been.

God gave me a free coffee on a cold and long day.On the same day that I asked for Him to provide a drink or food for me. He showed me that He still answers my prayers and that He has never left my side through everything. That He knows everything about you and what would make you the happiest and that He is a God that cares about Him people.

Do you have any amazing God stories?

Much love and Happy New Year!

Emily Grace

 

2 thoughts on “God gave me a free coffee

  1. I am a coffee lover too!! I actually didn’t start drinking it until I was 50 years old, just two years ago 🙂 crazy, huh? I always loved the smell and would walk down the coffee aisle in the grocery just to enjoy the aroma. But I couldn’t stand the taste, until a friend fixed me a divine creamy mocha one day…then I asked her, “If I walked into Starbucks, what would I order?” “Oh, you would probably like a white chocolate mocha!” Hooked. My kids bought me a Keurig for Mother’s Day that year and last week my DIL bought me a Toddy!! Now I can make real espresso and iced coffees at home and not pay $5 each for them! They are every bit as good as the big guys 🙂

    I am so sorry you have lost such precious ones so dear to you. It is hard to understand when things happen as they do in life. It doesn’t mean God is not near, in fact He is closer than you can imagine…He is holding you close, wrapping you in His arms and wanting to dry your tears. He knows your hurt and pain and wants you to know it is only temporary. You have the hope of eternity! Of course it is difficult without them here but if they loved God then they have received their reward, what a blessing!

    Praying for you tonight that you will receive the comfort God has for you. Love the post. You nailed it.

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

