Remembering GPop

It is funny how life works sometimes. It always seems to me that when there are bad times that come around, God appoints good times to closely follow. I have been very lucky to have gotten to know my Great Grandparents on my Mom’s side. As a couple they were married for 70 years and at 90 years old my wonderful GPop passed away. Image

He was one of the kindest and humblest men that I have ever known. He was really quiet but when he did speak it mattered. When he did speak it was usually out of love. He loved his family, consisting of four children, fourteen grandchildren and thirteen  (soon to be fourteen) great-grandchildren. He had time to talk to all of us and he always made a point to make sure that we knew that he was glad we were there. He showed me what endless love looked like and always taught about the commitment in marriage.

Image

I mentioned to you how he was humble, he was the absolute most humble man I have ever met. That is him at the ripe old age of 20 heading off for the Army during WW2 as a Paratrooper in the 517th Parachute Infantry. His group traveled all over Europe during the war and he moved up to Sergeant. The most well know victory that he fought in was Battle of the Bulge, the same battle that won him the Purple Heart  and Bronze Star for his actions.What amazes me about all of this is how tender of a spirit he had even after all he had seen in his lifetime but also how he never talked about any of this stuff. I never knew that he was a Purple Heart recipient.

Image

This is one of my favorite family photos. It has my GG and GPop who were married for 70 years. It also has my Mom,Nana and me. This picture shows what he was all about, family and quality time. So here we are a month after he passed and my Nana remarried in this same house that you see in this picture. It was a time of love and family. I could feel him with us, happy for his daughter and happy that we could all have a happy moment as a family again. That is exactly what he would have wanted and God granted that to us. I am grateful for everyday that I had with him and for the fact that I know he is with God now in peace.

With much love,

Emily Grace

517th Parachute Infantry
517th Parachute Infantry
One thought on “Remembering GPop

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

