Why should I give up control?

 

Image

Up until recently I had a problem with releasing things. I held on to anything that was in my power to hold on to. I held on to pain,resentment,fear,grudges, and anything else that you could think of. I felt that if I lost my grasp on those things, I would lose who I was and not be able to go on with my life. Recently though I was able to give all those things up to God, and it has changed absolutely everything about how I live and how I feel. It’s a breakthrough that I could have only prayed for.

What causes us to hold on to these things that haunt us, cloud our judgement and keep us separated from God? For starters I believe our society has a major role in how we perceive the control and the release that we have. In our society we are taught that we need to be strong,to be able to hold our own, and to hold on to the grudges that we feel. Though feminism has done some good things, such as give us the right to vote, it has pushed women particularly into harder roles.It has pushed women into thinking that in order to compete with the men that they must be able to bottle everything up into themselves, as any release would discredit her. Beyond that there is also how our society views grudges. They love it, they love to see fights between people or to see the drama. They love to watch the destroying of friendships and families as they can’t move past their differences. In fact we are so attached to the carrying of resentment that our culture has now made divorce as popular as marriage.

Another thing that prompts us to hold on to the things weighing us down is our own pride. In any well off country it is easy to get to the point of not needing God. We on average live in better conditions then those that live in other parts of the world. While in that environment it is easy to get soaked up into being the God of your own life.  Why give up our control to a God when we can do everything all by ourselves. Pride is the source of almost all sin and can separate you from God as long as you will allow it.

Lastly the enemy is constantly trying to fight God for your soul. There is always spiritual warfare going on for where you will end up in the end. The Devil wants us to get stuck in the trenches of resentment, pride, fear, and grudges.The more time that you dwelling on these thoughts the easier it is to separate you from God. 

So what are we to do as Christians? We release to God what is already His. God is in control as it says in Job 12:10 “In his hand is the life of every living thing and the breath of all mankind”. He tells you not to fear, Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”. He asks us to forgive, Ephesians 4:32 “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”. God controls all of the things around us, there is no reason to fear. He forgave us, so we must forgive those who have hurt us. When we release our worry,our fear, our control and our strongholds our chains break free. It takes the things away that were blocking us from God. We are able to hear Him in our lives and move forward in the direction He has planned. A weight is lifted as you are not alone in your walk.Just by doing this it changed my walk with God and it can change your as well.The question stands however, are you ready to release your burdens. fear and grudges in order to give Him control?

What are some of things you struggle with giving up control on?

Love always.

Emily Grace

 

 

One thought on “Why should I give up control?

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 11/16/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

