Why the rush?

Give thanksIt’s that time of year again. The time of year that family comes together again, the coolness returns the air and drinking the hot drinks at Starbucks becomes a necessity again. I can not even lie to you, this is my favorite time of year, I love fall and winter. I love the cold air, the activities, the festiveness and getting together with those I love.

That all being said I also love to take things one holiday at a time. Thanksgiving is less then two weeks away and yet everywhere I turn it is all about Christmas already or about Black Friday. Don’t get me wrong here, Christmas is my favorite holiday and I go Black Friday shopping every year because I don’t like to spend a ton of money ever. However what happened to Thanksgiving?

My mom spends all day cooking for my whole family. She pours every ounce of her love into the food she makes that day. She goes out of her way to make sure we all had a dish that we love at that table, to show how much she loves us and is thankful for us. Now imagine that I totally disregard her and decide that I’m going to just go shopping all day on Thanksgiving (which the mall near us is trying to push.) The hurt that she would have could not be explained.

This is a growing problem that I see around us. I see that Thanksgiving is getting pushed more aside every year, but why does that matter so much? I feel that it shows how out of touch we truly are. We focus so much on Christmas that we forget about Thanksgiving and it’s meaning. Thanksgiving is about being thankful for the things we already have, for our families, for our health and for the God that loves us so much. We are becoming an ungrateful people, ones more focused on the material that we own then the material in our own hearts. We are losing site on why the holiday was even started and why we celebrate it all.

So my suggestion for this year is that at least on Thanksgiving we focus on the family and friends we have. To be thankful. To take a break from the Christmas shopping and enjoy some amazing food. After that when you go out shopping I promise that your mindset will be different on Black Friday.

What does Thanksgiving mean to you and your family? How do you try to preserve the thankfulness on that day?

Love always,

Emily Grace

One thought on “Why the rush?

  1. I agree that by November 1st everything is about Christmas. It’s something I don’t really mind, but mainly because I absolutely LOVE Christmas. However, I do everything I can to spend November focusing on giving thanks. I find that most stores are a month early when it comes to decorations. So by the time November comes around and you are finally thinking about leaves and turkeys, all the fall stuff is sold out and Christmas is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

theatypicalhousewife

Just another WordPress.com site

a.wise.woman.builds.her.home

“We are women, and my plea is Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” Elisabeth Elliot

We are nomads.

Our Adventures as a Marine Corps Family

Pious Homemaking

with Andrea Davis

A Less Than Perfect Homemaker

Embracing Imperfection....

Trinkets and Talmud

What if Bruria was a Balabusta?

Counting On His Promises

A jounrey to Biblical Womanhood and God's promises for us.

